Annual General Meeting (AGM) 2014

Our Annual General Meeting was well attended by Supported Individuals and their families as well as staff and community members.

Special thanks and a recognition award were given to four Board Members who have completed their terms: Michael Barrett, Barney Bailey, Tom Hunter and, out going President, Deb Brown.

Michael Barrett and Jennifer Ritchie gave thanks and recognition to the Ali's, the Kingsley's and the Barber's for their efforts and hours of hard work in renovating three of our downtown homes.

Doug Dickie Award
This Award is to recognize a Direct Support Staff member's contributions to improving the lives and life experiences of our Supported Individuals.  This year's recipient was Veronica Nobre. Veronica is tireless when it comes to planning interesting and exciting trips for our Supported Individuals. Whether it's within the City, the Province or even a Caribbean Cruise she makes sure that no details are overlooked. Veronica also facilitates and helps to foster meaningful relationships with Supported Individuals' friends and family. Keep up the excellent work Veronica.

Sheila Follet Award
This Award recognizes an individual's efforts and achievements in supporting individuals to participate and contribute to their community. This year the award was presented to Anne Bruce.

Anne is a Case Facilitator with the Special Needs Team at Delisle Youth Services and working with her has been an excellent experience. Anne facilitated a partnership with Delisle and NVT in finding an appropriate roommate for the Scadding condo project.  She worked to ensure everything required to support this young man was in place and did what it took to keep people accountable in a non judgmental way. She listened to families and Direct Support Staff in order to determine what was in the best interests of the Supported Individuals. It worked out incredibly well and both young men in the condo are happy and having a meaningful life.

Anne’s advocacy has helped many individuals participate in their community. She is thorough, professional, respectful, friendly and a delight to work with. Anne truly exemplifies the spirit of the Sheila Follet Award. Thanks Anne!

Staff Anniversaries

20 Years (1994)
Jose Barcenas (Full-Time Counsellor)
Julie Andrews (Service Coordinator)     

15 Years (1999)
Maria DelaVega (Full-Time Counsellor)        

10 Years (2004)
Amy Levesque (Service Coordinator)                 

Full-Time Counsellors
Nathaniel Birch
Nadine Ann Donaldson                 

Full-Time Night Awake Counsellor
Charles Bruno Okpuruka      

5 Years (2009)
Paula Murphy (Director of Services

Part-Time Counsellors
Leslie Hohmeyer 
Folashade Popoola     
Krista Lyn Fairbanks
Priscella Spence
Charles Opuch          
Maria Gregoriou
Michelle James

Full-Time Counsellors
Amy B. Morrison
Haja Fatmata Nabie